Tourism Minister Heads Delegation To Singapore


MINISTER of Tourism Obie Wilchcombe will head a delegation of government and private sector officials to the International Association of Gaming Advisors summit in Singapore, October 23 through 25.


Obie Wilchcombe

Beginning October 19, a separate delegation will hold a series of meetings beginning in Malaysia, hosted by the Genting Group.

“The purpose of the trip is for government officials to explore investment opportunities in the Bahamas in the tourism, industrial, financial services, and shipping sectors, and trade,” said a Ministry of Tourism spokesperson.

“Also, it seeks to encourage the growing presence of Asian businesses in the Bahamas and to foster closer diplomatic ties with countries like China, Malaysia and Singapore.”

A spokesman for IAGA described the gaming advisors meeting as “the gaming industry’s premier summit bringing together leaders of the gaming industry from all sectors – operators, suppliers, attorneys, investors, bankers, regulators, and other advisors.

“The summit gives attendees access to network, share ideas and initiate improvements which can make gaming stronger and more efficient for all participants.”

The Bahamian private sector delegation to the summit includes a six-member team from Baha Mar and Atlantis.

The Bahamian government delegation includes: Mr Wilchcombe; Marcian Cooper, minister’s aide; Damian Gomez, MP, Minister of State in the Ministry of Legal Affairs; Andre Rollins, chairman, Gaming Board; Patricia Rodgers, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Tourism; Alva Coakley, legal counsel, Ministry of Tourism; Camille Johnson, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of the Environment and Housing; Sir Baltron Bethel, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Prime Minister/Tourism Development Consultant, Ministry of Tourism; Senator Julian Russell, Chairman, Hotel Corporation; Kendred Dorsett, MP, Minister of the Environment and Housing; Dennis Martin, secretary, Gaming Board; Kayla Ward, Director, Special Projects Office of the Prime Minister/Ministry of Tourism.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment