Giants v Cybots tonight


Sports Reporter


THE 2014 New Providence Basketball Association will again be decided between a pair of familiar foes, perennial contenders and the last two league champions.

The Commonwealth Bank Giants and MailBoat Cybots are scheduled to square off 8pm tonight at the AF Adderley Gymnasium in the best-of-seven championship series. The teams have won the last four league titles with the Cybots winning in 2009, followed by a Giants three-peat, before the Cybots regained the title in 2013.

The Giants earned their championship series berth Friday night after they closed out PJCS in the fifth and deciding game of the semifinals 94-86. Adrian Miller led five Giants in double figures with 18 points as they won the John Archer Divison.

Jackson Jacob and Mark Hanna each added 15, Jeffrey Henfield added 14 and Gamaliel Rose finished with 13 points and 10 rebounds. Jeremy Hutchinson finished with a near double double, nine points and 10 rebounds, while Ricardo Pierre scored eight.

PJCS was led by Able Joseph who scored a game high 23 points and added 11 rebounds. Ian Pinder added 17 points and 12 rebounds, while Jason Mitchell and Tavares Roker each finished with 11 points. Batchlette LaFleur chipped in with nine.

The Giants dominated game one 105-89 to open the series.

In game two, Giants All-Star guard Michael Bain went down with an apparent season-ending leg injury and Able Joseph led PJCS to a 97-94 win to tie the series.

In game three, the Giants took a 2-1 series lead behind a stellar effort on the defensive end and veteran leadership from Mark Hanna. Hanna finished with 23 points and 12 rebounds to spark the lopsided 93-71 win.

PJCS evened the series 2-2 behind 22 points from Roker and and 19 points and 15 rebounds from Joseph en route to a 98-90 win.

The Cybots were the first team to book a ticket to the championship series after they defeated the Real Deal Shockers in four games.

Behind the explosive game high 36 points and 15 rebounds from Eugene Bain and the game winning pair of free throws from Mitch Bain, the Cybots nipped the Shockers 112-111 to win the Vince Ferguson Divisional title in the league’s championship series.

The Shockers took a surprising game one win, 107-96 behind 21 points from Floyd Armbrister and 17 points and nine rebouds from Vernon Stubbs.

The Cybots scored over 100 points in each of the remaining games of the series to close it out.

In game two, newcomer Roosevelt Whylly led the way with 21 points and 12 rebounds en route to a 102-94 win.

In game three it was Eugene Bain who finished with 21 points and 19 rebounds in the 106-92 win. The teams split the regular season matchup at one win each.

In the first meeting, March 8, Brian Bain led the Cybots to a 111-103 win with a game high 27 points. In the second matchup, Gamaliel Rose’s 19 points and 18 rebounds held the Giants escape with a 92-91 win.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment