Casja Choooses Athletes To Receive Awards

THE newly formed Caribbean Sports Journalists’ Association (CASJA) is pleased to collaborate with the North American, Central American and Caribbean Athletics Association (NACAC) to select the top track and field athletes in the region.

According to interim president Michael Bascombe, the partnership between the two organisations will only benefit the new body as CASJA has agreed to assist NACAC with the selection of the top athletes in the Continental Area.

CASJA appointed a selection committee to deliberate over the nominations. Following the submission of nominations by a group of track and field correspondents from around the region, and careful consideration by four of these journalists, CASJA has chosen the following athletes to receive NACAC Awards for the 2014 season.


Final Vote

Selection Committee – Hubert Lawrence and Kayon Raynor from Jamaica, Kwame Laurence from Trinidad & Tobago and Javier Clavelo from Cuba.

Senior Male -

Justin Gatlin (USA)

Gatlin completed the 2014 season with world leading times 100m (9.77) and 200m (19.68). He was also the IAAF 100m Diamond League winner.

Senior Female – Francena

McCorory (USA)

McCorory won the World Indoor 400m title (51.12), the 400m (49.94) at the Continental Cup for the Americas and the world leading time of 49.48.

Junior Male -

Jaheel Hyde (JAM)

Hyde won the 400m hurdles title (49.29) at the World Junior Championships and the 110m hurdles (12.96) at the Youth Olympic Games. His winning time at the WJC was the fastest time this year among junior competitors.

Junior Female - Kaylin

Whitney (USA)

Whitney won the 200m gold medal at the World Junior Championship in 22.82 seconds. She also has the leading junior times of 11.10 (100m) and 22.49 (200m).

Emerging Male - O’Dayne

Richards (JAM)

Richards won the gold in the shot put at the Commonwealth Games. His winning throw of 21.61 metres is ranked fifth in the world.

Emerging Female - Tori

Bowie (USA)

Bowie has the world leading time of 10.80 seconds (100m) and the fourth fastest time in the 200m (22.18).


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment