High School National Volleyball Champs Today

THE 2015 High School National Volleyball Championships, sponsored by JS Johnson, is scheduled to kick off today at the DW Davis and CI Gibson Gymnasiums.

The tournament, organised by the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology and the Bahamas Volleyball Federation, will feature eight teams in the girls’ division and seven in the boys. The tournament will run through Sunday when the champions will be crowned.

The teams will play two sets each and if there is a tie, the winner will be determined by the most points scored. The teams with the best records will advance to the playoffs.

Entered in the girls’ division are the CI Gibson Rattlers, CR Walker Knights, Mt Carmel Preparatory Cavaliers, Teleos Christian Cherubims, St Augustine’s College Big Red Machine, Kingsway Academy Saints and Grand Bahama’s Bishop Michael Eldon Warriors from Sunland Baptist Academy.

They will be split in two divisions. In Pool A are CI Gibson, Mt Carmel, Kingsway Academy and Sunland Baptist Academy. In pool B are CR Walker, Teleos Christian Academy, St. Augustine’s College and Bishop Michael Eldon.

Entered in the boys’ division are the CR Walker Knights, CC Sweeting Cobras, Teleos Christian Academy Cherubims, Akhepran International Academy, St. Augustine’s College Big Red Machine and from Grand Bahama, St George’s Jaguars and Bishop Michael Eldon Warriors.

They will play out of two pools as well. In Pool A are CR Walker, Teleos Christian Academy and Bishop Michael Eldon. In Pool B are CC Sweeting, Akhepran International Academy, St Augustine’s College and St George’s High.


3:15pm - CR Walker vs Bishop Michael Eldon (Girls)

4pm - Mt Carmel Prep vs Kingsway Academy (Girls)

4:45pm - Teleos Christian Academy vs St Augustine’s College (Girls)

5:30pm - Akhepran International Academy vs St Augustine’s College (Boys)

6:15pm - CR Walker vs Bishop Michael Eldon (Boys)

7pm - Opening ceremonies

7:30pm - Mt Carmel Prep vs CI Gibson (Girls)

8:15pm - CC Sweeting vs St George’s High (Boys)

On Friday, the action is slated to pick up at 2:30pm at the DW Davis Gymnasium and 3:30pm at CI Gibson.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment