Knights And The Rattlers Top Senior Standings


Tribune Sports Reporter


THE senior school segment of the GSSSA Track and Field Championship meet concludes today with a deadlocked tie atop the standings setting the stage for the final day of competition.

The defending champion CR Walker Knights and CI Gibson Rattlers both totalled 330.50 points at the conclusion of day two at the Thomas A Robinson Stadium.

The CV Bethel Stingrays are in third place with 260 points, the CC Sweeting Cobras are fourth with 140 points and the RM Bailey Pacers fifth with 122 points.

The Government High Magic enter the final day with 114.50 points, Doris Johnson Mystic Marllins seventh with 90 points and the Anatol Rodgers Timberwolves eighth with 56.50 points.

Results of the U-20 girls high jump were still outstanding up to press time last night.

The sprint hurdles were the only finals contested on the track yesterday and produced a new meet record in the Boys U-20 110mH.

Jahmaal Wilson of RM Bailey took first place in 14.41 seconds ahead of Denvaughn Whymns of CC Sweeting in 14.44.

Both surpassed the previous record of 14.49, set by Joshua Stubbs in 2013. Wendall Alridor of RM Bailey finished third in 15.89.

The Rattlers swept the remaining hurdles to spark their come from behind effort and tie the scoreboard.

Kaylisa Saunders took the Girls U-20 100mH in 17.28, Tyree Boyer won the U-17 Boys event in 16.78 and took the top two spots in the Girls U-20 event with Tibby Rochelle (16.71 and Jalexa Philistine (18.13).

In the field, the Rattlers took a pair of throwing events.

Dangelo Cartwright won the U-17 Boys shot put with a 13.55m toss and Edricka McClain won the U-17 Girls Javelin with her mark of 29.45m.

Benet Johnson of GHS won the U-20 Girls discuss (25.46m), Jervannie Albury of CR Walker won the U-17 Girls long jump (4.57m) and Vno Rahming of CC Sweeting won the open pole vault at 2.93m

The Knights took the lone distance race on the afternoon in the Boys U-20 5000m. Joseph Lhevinne was first in 18:11.59, Devantae Newbold of the Rattlers was second in 18:11.94 and Kevin Belidor of CV Bethel was third in 18:31.25.

The meet begins at 9am and concludes today at the Thomas A Robinson stadium.

In 2017, the Knights defeated the Rattlers by just 38 points to reclaim the title. The Knights had a 10-year streak of titles from 2004-2014 before being dethroned by the CV Bethel Stingrays who won in 2015 and 2016.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment