High School Basketball Nationals All Set

THE best high school basketball players in the island nation are set to showcase their skills at the third edition of the National High School Basketball Championships.

The Bahamas Basketball Federation along with the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology will again host the event in Grand Bahama March 22-26 and will feature the top senior boys and girls and Family Island divisions.

The association champions earn automatic bids into the 12-team field which includes seven teams from New Providence and five teams from Grand Bahama.

The St Augustine’s College Big Red Machine and Jordan Prince William Falcons will represent the BAISS while GSSSA representatives include the CC Sweeting Cobras, CI Gibson Rattlers, Anatol Rodgers Timberwolves and Doris Johnson Mystic Marlins. The Teleos Cherubims will be the lone school from the BSA.

Teams out of Grand Bahama will include the Eight Mile Rock BlueJays, Tabernacle Baptist Academy Falcons, Sunland Baptist Academy Stingers, St Georges Jaguars and Jack Hayward Wildcats.

The Family Island division features the top 11 senior boys teams from the Family Island and others with a limited population.

The field includes Agape Christian School and Patrick J Bethel High School out of Abaco, San Salvador Central High School, Cat Island High School, NGM Major High School from Long Island, South Andros High School, Central Eleuthera High, Gateway Academy and Louise McDonald High School out of Bimini and BSA schools out of the capital - Mt Carmel Preparatory Academy and Akhepran International Academy.

The senior girls will feature 10 teams from New Providence, Grand Bahama and Abaco.

New Providence schools will once again include SAC and Jordan Prince William from the BAISS, Teleos Christian from the BSA, Doris Johnson and CV Bethel from the GSSSA, Eight Mile Rock, Tabernacle, Bishop Michael Eldon and St Georges High School out of Grand Bahama and Abaco’s Agape Christian Academy.

In 2017, the St George’s Jaguars emerged as the story as they protected home court in their gymnasium by claiming the Division I title in a 61-53 win over the Tabernacle Baptist Falcons.

The Jaguars’ Howard Hinzey was named the MVP after his 16-point, 13-rebound performance in the title game. He led the All-Tournament team selections along with fellow Jaguars teammates Mateo King, Davonte Jennings, Ahmard Harvey and Kyle Smith.

In the Family Island division, the Gateway Eagles won the national title led by Bradley Lightbourne - he was named the MVP.

In the Senior Girls division, the Jordan Prince William Falcons won the national title but the Rattlers’ Latavia Brennen was heralded as the top individual performer. Brennen averaged 18.8 points and 18 rebounds per game.

Games will be played at the St George’s and Jack Hayward gymnasiums.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment