Team Bahamas 6th overall in Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships


Tribune Sports Reporter


THE Bahamas concluded the 65th Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships with a sixth place finish in the standings for both the George Teale Trophy and the Hoerman Cup.

The tournament was hosted by the Turks and Caicos Islands Golf Association (TCIGA) at the Royal Turks and Caicos Golf Club.

Other participating teams included the hosts Barbados, Cayman Islands, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, and the US Virgin Islands.

The team of A’Marie Smith and Ashley Michel finished with a score of 529 (+97). Jamaica solidified their dominant performance to claim the George Teale Trophy, finishing at 466 (+34).

Puerto Rico was second at 478 (+46), The Dominican Republic was third at 484 (+52), Barbados was fourth at 497 (+65) and Turks and Caicos was fifth at 527 (+95).

Michel was the top finisher for Team Bahamas and concluded her three round total in 13th place. She shot identical rounds of 87 and a final round of 86, for a total score of 260 (+44).

Smith finished in 14th place with a total score of 269 (+53). She followed her round of 90 with a a second round 93 and concluded with a tournament low 86.

For the Hoerman Cup, the men’s team of Sebastian Iberri, Horace Miller, Richard Gibson Jr, Heathcliffe Kane, Lynford Miller and Nolan Johnson produced a combined score of 943 (+79) to finish sixth in the eight-team field.

Puerto Rico dominated the field as the only team to shoot under par with a score of 860 (-4). The Dominican Republic was second at 882 (+18), Cayman Islands was third at 886 (+22), Jamaica was fourth at 895 (+31), Trinidad and Tobago fifth at 916 (+52), Turks and Caicos seventh at 985 (+121) and Barbados eighth at 997 (+133).

Iberri was the top finisher among the group at No.17 overall.

He opened with a 75, shot a 78 in round two and finished with a 76 in round three for a score of 229 (+13).

Gibson finished tied for 22nd with a score of 233 (+17). He opened with an 84, shot 77 in round two, and a tournament low 72 in the final round.

Lynford Miller was fourth at no.36 with rounds of 86, 73, and 84 for a score of 243 (+27) while Horace Miller finished two strokes behind, at no.38 with his score of 245 (+29). He produced rounds of 83, 83, and 79.

Johnson finished at no.42 with rounds of 87, 90, and 81 for a score of 258 (+42).

Kane shot an opening round 84, withdrew from the second round and concluded with a score of 79 in the final round.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment