Fidelity-sponsored BAISS track & field meet ends today

DESPITE the lack of traditional rivalries and scoring systems, the Bahamas Association of Independent Secondary Schools returned to sports with its 32 Track and Field Meet, sponsored by Fidelity Bank and Trust.

Just eight of the 14 BAISS schools are in competition as the two-day meet concludes today at the Thomas A Robinson stadium.

Day one began on the track with sprint hurdles contested across all divisions.

St Augustine’s College and Temple Christian comprised the bulk of the field with the Suns’ Angelique Dean taking the girls’ 75mH in 14.52 seconds and Ryan McKinny winning the boys 80mH in 15.19 while Tayshaun Robinson of St John’s won the U20 boys race in 15.23.

SAC athletes took first place in the U17 girls (Aydin-Bethany Bullard in 17.32), U20 girls (Shanai Sweeting in 16.93) and U17 boys (Quinton Rolle in 16.00). In the 1500m, Yulianis Castaneda of CW Saunders won the U15 girls in 5:33.51 and Jaxon Bethel of St Andrews won the U15 boys in 5:33.42.

Kingsway’s Jayda Ramhing won the U17 girls race in 5:25.03 while St Anne’s Kevannio Smith won the U17 boys in 4:49.00.

SAC’s Sara Willimas took the U20 girls in 5:42.28 while the Giants’ Paulindo Boyer won the U20 boys in 4:29.72.

A tightly contested 400m series opened with a win for TC’s Breteisha Kemp in the U13 Girls in 1:04.94 while St John’s Giant Aiden Musgrove won the U13 boys in 1:02.20.

SAC’s Eagan Neely dominated the field in the U15 boys and won by nearly four seconds in 54.54. Jasmine Thompson of TC won the U15 girls in 1:01.98.

Philip Gray of St Anne’s won the U17 boys in 49.69 and Tamia Taylor of St John’s won the U17 girls in 58.29 and was the only member of the field to break the one-minute barrier.

In the U20 division, Caleb Major of St. John’s won the boys race in 49.09 secs and Nya Wright of SAC won the U20 girls in 1:01.08.

Antoine Andrews of St Johns headlined the 100m with an U20 boys win in 11.10 while another Giant, Ishmael Rolle, won the U17 boys in 11.43.

Marcia Hall of Kingsway won the U13 girls in 14.07.

The remainder of the races went to Big Red Machine athletes.

SAC’s Amari Pratt won the girls U20 in 12.67, Shayann Demeritte won the U17 girls in 12.98, Kion Burrows won the U15 boys in 12.27 and Madison Moss won the U15 girls in 13.22.

• Full meet results are available at www. tekresults.net


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment