Two wins and strong finishes for Mingoes at Neville Wisdom Classic

THE University of The Bahamas Mingoes picked up two wins to go along with other strong finishes at DTSP Wolfpack’s Neville Wisdom Classic at The Thomas A Robinson National Stadium Saturday.

Kenold Jean won the open men’s 3000m event and Lhevinne Joseph won the open men’s 800m event. Jaidyn Brown had a top three finish in the open men’s high jump as well.

Head coach Ednal Rolle said he was pleased with the team’s performance in only the second meet of the year.

“It was a great performance from the team,” he said.

“I had four Mingoes with season’s best performances, so I’m excited as this is only the second meet of the season. We are steadily improving as I expected and I’m looking for a great season going forward.”

Kenold Jean started The Mingoes off with a solid win the open men’s 3000m event. Jean won the event in 10 minutes 40.74 seconds. Nathan Johnson of Hurry Murray took second in 10:46.09.

Middle-distance specialist Lhevinne Joseph won the open men’s 800m event in 1:56.16—a second and a half ahead of his nearest competitor. Kenzie Knowles of Swift Athletics took second in 1:57.66. Jackson Ozias took fourth spot for The Mingoes in 2:05.61. Joseph never trailed after the 100 metre break in the race.

“I felt really good out there for the first 800- metre event of the season,” Joseph said.

“The whole goal of the race was to take the first 400 comfortably and then make the whole race as comfortable as possible.

“I wanted to get there in 57 seconds and then bring it back. This was my third best time of all time and that’s a good time to have in only my second meet of the season. I’m hoping to get to a 1:52 by the end of the season.”

Jaidyn Brown took the third in open high jump clearing 1.8m (5-10 ¾). Brown easily cleared 1.75m (5-9 ½) but had two knockdowns at 1.8m and cleared on his third attempt. He had three knockdowns at 1.85m (6-1).

Brianique Strachan finished fourth in the open women’s 100m event in a time of 12.53 seconds. Tamara Myers of Leap of Faith won the event in 12.16 seconds.

In the open women’s 800m event, Lakeicia Lewis finished fourth in 2:35.21 and Fridline Augustin finished sixth in 2:40.69.

Dennis Williamson took fifth spot in the open men’s 200m in 22.84 seconds. Jeremiah Adderley from DTSP Wolfpack won the event in 21.89 seconds.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.