Senior golfers tee off in the 58th Caribbean Amateur Championships


Sports Reporter


FOLLOWING the spirited performance of the juniors last week, golfers on the Bahamas’ senior national team teed off yesterday in the 58th Caribbean Amateur Golf Championships at the Sugarcane and East Courses at the Dorado Beach Resort in Puerto Rico.

Day one produced a number of performances that saw several players move toward contention on opening day.

In the Super Seniors division, Oswald Moore and Vernon Wells are tied for second place after an opening run 71, -1. Puerto Rico’s Alberto Carerro and Carlos Matos shot -2, 70, to lead the field in the chase for the Higgs and Higgs Trophy.

In the Seniors division, competing for the Francis and Steele Perkins Cup, the team of Chris Harris and Horace Miller stand just four strokes back on the leaderboard after they shot an opening round 76, +4. Felipe Colon Sr and Mario Carbia of Puerto Rico lead the field after they shot an even 72.

In the Mid-Amaetur men, George Swann and Peter McIntosh are currently in a three-team tie for fourth place after they recorded a +3, 75. Trinidad and Tobago’s Clint Alfred and Neil Latchmansingh were the only duo to golf below par with an opening round 70, -2.

In the Ametuer men division, Benjamin Davis is currently tied for seventh in individual scoring, despite his struggling in the standings in the race for the Hoerman Cup.

Davis finished at 77, +5, six strokes behind the leader, Edward Figueroa of Puerto Rico who shot 71, -1.

The team of Davis, Devaughn Robinson (80, +8), Deland Mortimer (95, +23), Brian Coakley (84, +12) and Asif Robinson did not receive a final ranking on the day as Robinson’s scores were not reported.

In the Ladies division, the Bahamas is ranked no.6 with a score of 177, +33.

Inecia Rolle led the team with an 88, +16; Taneka Sandiford shot 89, +17 and Brianne Robinson scored 101, +29.

Last year, the Bahamas finished sixth in the race for the Arthur Ziadie title, awarded to the top overall team.

Moore said they are looking forward to improving on their position as they challenge for the title this year. The last time the Bahamas won the title was in 2000 in Barbados.

The Bahamas, however, has never won the Ramon Baez Cup. However, the Bahamas held the George Teale Cup back-to-back in 2003 and 2004 in Trinidad and Tobago and the Bahamas respectively.

The Bahamas only won the Higgs & Higgs Cup once and that was when it was initiated in 1990 in Jamaica.

The Francis & Steele-Perkins Cup was last won by the Bahamas in 1999 in the Turks & Caicos Islands. But the Bahamas has not won the Hoerman Cup since 1980 in Barbados.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment